|The Lost World of CCNY: Architectural Gems of Our Past|
|Click on Picture for full Image|
|The Bowker/Alumni Library (1937-1957). The
Alumni Library, named in honor of the publisher Richard Rogers Bowker of
the Class of
1868, was intended to remedy the major defect in George Post’s original campus
design—the lack of a library. The Depression slowed the rate of alumni
giving and the 1937 segment remained unfinished.
After World War II plans to complete the building were put forward which favored the erection of a modern stack tower attached to the older portion. When the Manhattanville Campus was purchased, the location of the library at the extreme northern end of the campus became inconvenient. President Gallagher determined that a totally new structure should be constructed in the middle of the campus. Thus, the Old Cohen Library Building was finished in 1957 (now known as the Y Building) and Bowker was demolished to make room for the David B. Steinman Hall, named in honor of a member of the Class of 1906.
The new tech building was designed by Lorimar and Rose, Architects and Engineers, who completed the structure in 1960. Steinman Hall consists of 280,000 square feet of space of classrooms, laboratories, administrative offices, and an auditorium for the School of Engineering which is considered the third largest in the nation. It offers undergraduate and master’s degrees in biomedical, chemical, civil, electrical, and mechanical engineering.
|Previous Building||Return to Main Page||Next Building|
|Go Back to Map Page|
|Copyright © The
City College Library